Togo: Ibrahima Memounatou Appointed as New ECOWAS Parliament President

Friday, 24 May 2024 17:32
Togo: Ibrahima Memounatou Appointed as New ECOWAS Parliament President

(Togo First) - Ibrahima Mémounatou, a recently re-elected member of the Togolese National Assembly, has been appointed as the new head of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Parliament. The appointment took place during a session in Kano, Nigeria on Thursday, May 23, 2024.

Following the tradition of rotating presidency, Mémounatou assumes the leadership role, succeeding Sierra Leone's Sidie Mohammed Tunis. Previously serving as the third Vice-President of the outgoing bureau, Mémounatou is expected to work closely with other ECOWAS bodies to address various socio-political challenges in member states.

"Our responsibilities are weighty, and we must be aware of them and remain faithful to our commitments. We need to work together with intelligence, rigor, and determination," she stated.

During this 6th legislature of the ECOWAS Parliament, Mémounatou will collaborate with two other Togolese deputies, Senou Soklingbe and Patrick Kodjovi Senam Bolouvi, both members of the Union for the Republic (UNIR) party.

The ECOWAS Parliament, established in July 1993 with its headquarters in Abuja, Nigeria, consists of one hundred and twenty (120) seats. Each of the sixteen (16) member states has a minimum of five (05) seats, with the remaining forty (40) seats allocated based on the population of each country.

Esaïe Edoh

To contact us: c o n t a c t [@] t o g o f i r s t . c o m

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.